Winter hair care

5 ways to get your hair Winter Ready!

Ola!
It’s time to pull out the trench coats, leather boots, ear muffs and scarves! Winter is upon us and is here with full force! With that in mind, how best do you take care of your hair and make sure it grows optimally
* Get your hair did!!- as soon as the degrees start to decrease, my first thought is to protective style. Number one go to style for me are braids because they protect my ends and keep my scalp warm. Protective styles include wigs, weaves or braids. Others resort to bunning but I prefer to not expose my hair at all costs. I also try to not relax my hair when it’s colder because your hair will break so easily. Nobody wants breakage yal! The less you manipulate your hair, the more your hair will grow

* Longer deep conditioning sessions- when it’s colder and I have braids in, I aim to reduce my washdays from once every week to once every two weeks. So when I finally do deep condition my hair, I do it overnight instead of the usual 30-40 minutes. If you have access to steamers or hooded driers then be sure to use them

* Avoid humectants- you want to avoid products considered as humectants. An example of these are honey or glycerin. Humectants draw moisture from the air, however when it’s cold, there isn’t enough moisture in the air and the opposite actually happens. The cold air will pull out the moisture from your hair and will leave your hair dry.

* Use heavy sealants- after moisturizing your hair, you want to seal with a thick oil like castor oil or a butter such as Shea butter! DISCLAIMER Shea Butter isn’t a moisturizer. You can consider it to be a moisturizing sealant though. Thicker oils or sealants will withstand the harsh weather and lock in the moisture for longer

* Wear satin lined hats– the same way you try to avoid cotton pillows, is the same approach you should take with beanies and winter hats. Because they are made out of cotton, they have the ability to draw out your hairs moisture from the strands. To combat this you can either, line your beanies with satin or silk. I don’t have satin material lying about so I wear my satin bonnet first, then beanie on top of that.

How did you get your hair winter ready?

❣️Pau

Leave a comment